Ensemble neoN & Jan St. Werner (WP)

Electronic/improv +
Saturday, September 15th
Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, 11:00 AM

Ensemble neoN & Jan St. Werner
feat. Dynamische Akustische Forschung
Periodic Composite Waveform Environment (WP)
Henie Onstad Kunstsenter
15 September, from 11 – 17 (programme below, the audience may come and go at any time)
Ticket: 250/150 NOK
Also performed on 16 September

Experimental electronic composer Jan St. Werner (Mouse On Mars, Lithops, Microstoria) and Ensemble neoN collaborate on an unconventional performance format that includes new composition, improvisation, spatial arrangements and interventions from Werner’s class in Dynamic Acoustic Research, which he leads at Nuremberg Academy of Fine Arts. For two days, Ensemble neoN will take up residence at Henie Onstad Kunstsenter and a space will open up in which a mass of different audio practices will be tried out. Dynamic Acoustic Research is a radical course of investigation into post-war contemporary music, psychoacoustics and unconventional methods of capturing and producing sound and music. Periodic Composite Waveform Environment explores sound as an unstable art form and pushes players to the limits of their capacities.

Based in Berlin, Jan St. Werner is best known as half of the German electronic duo Mouse On Mars, who play Ultima on 14 September. His other projects include the solo Lithops; Microstoria, his duo with Oval’s Markus Popp; and soundtracks to films by artist Rosa Barba. He was artistic director at STEIM in the Netherlands (2004–06) and has composed for Musikfrabrik, Kaleidoskop and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. 

Ensemble neoN is a Norwegian contemporary music group working across artistic forms, collaborating with visual artists and performers including Susanna, Terre Thaemlitz and Jan Martin Smørdal. In 2017 Ensemble neoN was awarded Artist of the Year by Norsk Komponistforening.

Jan St. Werner
Students from Dynamische Akustische Forschung, Nuremberg
Paul Wick, Ina Ritter, Jörg Rodemer, Alexandru Salariu, Jonas Till HoffmannMichael AkstallerDaniela GrafSusanne DundlerNele JägerSilja BeckJulius Jurkiewitsch

Ensemble neoN
Ane Marthe Sørlien Holen – Percussion
Ida Kristina Zimmermann Olsen – Saxophone
Silje Aker Johnsen – Voice
Kristine Tjøgersen – Clarinet
Jan Martin Smørdal – Guitar/electronics
Tove Margrethe Erikstad – Cello
Yumi Murakami – Flute


11.00   Periodic Composite Waveform Environment Pt 1
Ensemble Neon & Jan St. Werner  
12.00   Intervention 1
Dynamische Akustische Forschung
12.30   Jan St. Werner performs Solo Pieces from the Fiepblatter Catalogue
13.00   Innermost Effects 1 - Texts by Thomas Raab and others 
Ensemble Neon & Jan St. Werner
14.00   Periodic Composite Waveform Environment Pt 2
Ensemble Neon & Jan St. Werner 
14.30   Intervention 2
            Dynamische Akustische Forschung
15.30   Jan St. Werner performs Solo Pieces from the Fiepblatter Catalogue
16.00   Periodic Composite Waveform Environment Pt 3
Ensemble Neon & Jan St. Werner 
16.30  Dynamische Akustische Forschung & Ensemble Neon & Jan St. Werner 

In collaboration with Henie Onstad Kunstsenter.

Supported by Norsk kulturråd and Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg.

(Foto: Miziku Kin) 


Ensemble neoN & Jan St. Werner (WP)

Henie Onstad Kunstsenter 11:00 AM

Ticket 250/150,-