Ensemble Temporum

Wednesday, September 14th
Sentralen/Forstanderskapssalen, 12:00 PM
Fresh perspectives on a modern classic

Gerard Grisey Vortex Temporum
Tim Mariën Where the Silence Breaks Its Back (WP)
Ensemble Temporum

Vortex Temporum (1994–96) by French spectralist Gerard Grisey generates a rippling effect and a sense of perpetual flow. This sextet, for flute, clarinet, violin, viola and cello, plus a piano with four notes adjusted by a quarter-tone, is seldom heard live.

Belgian composer (and former piano tuner) Tim Mariën (1975) has long been a fan of Grisey’s work, and retains a lifelong fascination with unconventional tunings. His new commission, Where the Silence Breaks Its Back, acts as a kind of commentary on Vortex Temporum, utilising the microtonally tuned instrument plus an additional upright piano with a more extreme alternative tuning.

Sanae Yoshida – piano
Aliisa Neige Barrière – violin
Bénédicte Royer – viola
Inga Byrkjeland – cello
Helen Benson – flute
Lauri Sallinen – clarinet
Kai Grinde Myrann – conductor


Ensemble Temporum

Sentralen/Forstanderskapssalen 12:00 PM

Ticket 100,-